IMAP Gmail available and working flawlessly on my iPhone

October 24, 2007

Having discovered this glorious news via TUAW last night, I immediately linked to the the Google provided directions and had no issues setting up a new IMAP account on iPrecious.  I did find it curious upon reading other news accounts about this, that Matt Miller found his account wasn’t working yet due to how Google must be provisioning this rollout?  Another curious thing is that I skipped enabling IMAP in my gmail settings and yet it downloaded messages to my phone and is syncing my changes without a hiccup.

Another question to ask is this:  why would Google give me less need to actually manage my account from a full web browser where they can throw targeted ads in my field of vision?

Leave a Reply

