More Pictures of AT&T’s 3G Microcell

July 11, 2009

By request here are a couple of shots of the retail box, as well as some better pictures of the unit itself.


One thing that is alarming me today is how quickly the battery on my E71x is draining. Unplugged from power at 4:15p, it’s definitely over 50% drained despite minimal usage (downloaded and listened to ~27 minutes of the latest geek free for all known as the Engadget podcast, manually synced gmail and exchange once each). If you know anything about how well the 1500mAh battery performs on the E71/E71x you know this is unusual……..my wife’s iPhone 3G is almost drained completely but she can’t remember when she last charged it and how much juice it had this morning. This kind of drain never happened with the trial microcell so it could just be that I had a runaway S60 app that needed to be stopped (okay, Jobs you told me so), but that’s never drained this much power this fast either, so stay tuned.

4 Responses to “More Pictures of AT&T’s 3G Microcell”

  1. Jon Says:

    Very interesting…the battery drain is curious. One would think full bars would let the phone go into a lower power mode…interesting

  2. W Says:

    Man I LOVE YOU for posting these picts. I'm super excited about the Microcell and can't wait to get my hands on one! Still anxiously awaiting the monthly price on the unlimited calling plan. I was in a store the other day and the manager told me that they were starting the training on these middle of September.

    Have you heard anything about the monthly cost or plans available?

  3. John Says:

    W, I think you'll able to buy it straight up with no extra monthly fee, unless you want some sort of unlimited minute plan for minutes used via Microcell. At least this is my guess based on the 3G trial survey questions they asked me. The device has been rock solid the last couple of months for me, so I'm a little surprised they're not already launching this. Especially given how much people have been beating them up for the network issues lately…..

  4. W Says:

    Thanks for the reply John,

    I'm really interested in the all you can eat plan. I'm actually a new AT&T customers and joined specifically to get two new iPhones. Service is okay until you step foot into my home. I've been using the Sprint Airave for about a year now and love the service it provides so I'm counting on the Microcell to do the same thing. Sprint actually gave me the unit and credits the $5/mo. back to my account every month. Doubt I'll be so lucky with AT&T though. I read somewhere that for more than one phone to go unlimited it would cost $30/mo. extra. That's a bit stiff in my opinion. Hopefully they'll make it a little more palatable.


Leave a Reply

