Firmware Flash to Malaysian i8910XXIG2 a Success

July 26, 2009

With the release on Friday of a Malaysian version of the i8910XXIG2 firmware that squashes many bugs,improves battery life and most importantly allows for aac audio during HD video recording, I decided this morning to take the plunge and risk making a very expensive shiny brick of my Samsung i8910.

Following these instructions (or not actually), Windows 7 turned out not to be a good platform to count on cooperating with Samsung USB flashing drivers. A short move over to an old XP Toshiba tablet I keep just for such occasions, made things go much more swimmingly, and I safely finished flashing sans much anxiety.

The OS feels quite a bit snappier, but I’ll need a full day in the wild to judge any battery improvement. As for the HD video audio, I confess I haven’t even tried it yet, but I will, Ohhh I will!

Leave a Reply

